A Soldier fires an M17 handgun at targets during the Victory Week Pistol Competition, or Regional Combat Pistol Championship, June 4. The top 10% of firers at the event earned a bronze Excellence in Competition marksmanship badge. (Photo Credit: Nathan Clinebelle)
The M17 and M18 pistols, manufactured by SIG, which are versions of their P320 handgun, are really taking the heat.
They have been for awhile, but this local incident really ramped things up:
Air Force Division Grounds M18 Handguns After Airman Dies On Wyoming Base
Let's first say, anyway you look at this, this is a terrible tragedy (but see below).
But is anything really wrong with the pistol. SIG says there isn't.
SIG, or expanded Schweizerische Industrie Gesellschaft, is one of the premier firearms manufacturers in the world. In this context its party of a trade union with the German firm of J. P. Sauer und Sohn GmbH in order to work around Swiss laws that would largely prohibit the export of military weapons. SIG did export some prior to the industrial union, with the excellent Stg 57 in export variants, being a prime example, but in recent years SIG has seriously moved into the export arms market in a way that it had not before, following the well blazed trail of Mauser and Fabrique Nationale, both of which at one time occupied the stage of supplier of small arms to the world at different points.
The US was never part of that market until Robert Strange McNamara vandalized Springfield Armory and foisted the AR15 upon the military against its will. That had the impact of making the US a commercial small arms purchaser in a way that it had not been since the American Revolution, and we've paid for it every since. It's completely true that the US had purchased commercial arms prior to that, with it notably going to commercial sidearms after Colt's perfection of cap and ball revolvers, and it interestingly relied upon commercial firms for machineguns, but when Springfield Armory was around, it always had an excellent in house backup. After that, the US became entirely reliant upon civilian suppliers.
A lesson there, interestingly enough, is that to some degree being a commercial supplier of small arms to the US military has been historically a really bad deal for commercial firms. Being the manufacturer of the M1917 rifle during World War One nearly killed Remington right after the war, and relying on sales of AR15 models to the service has actually been sort of a bad economic bet for Colt. The lesson probably is that really relying on military sales to the US is risky.
The old model that Colt used, which was basically "here's what we have, it's really good, buy if you want it" is probably the best one.
Advertisement for Colt double action revolver.
And that's particularly the case as there hasn't been a single US handgun the US military has purchased since the M1873 was replaced by the M1892 which hasn't drawn criticism.
The M1892 is a nice double action revolver, but its .38 cartridge, ideal for police use, was anemic for combat, something that the Philippine Insurrection rapidly demonstrated. M1873s were brought back into service (more on that in a minute) and .45 Colt New Army's were purchased as M1982s were pulled. That was a stopgap measure until the Army could adopt an "automatic" pistol, which it did after leisurely testing in the form of the M1911.
The M1911 is a contender for greatest military handgun of all time, so its surprising that at first there were plenty of Army officers who hated it. They regarded it outright dangers as it was too easy to fire and it was found that excited cavalrymen would accidentally shoot their horses in the head during charges. Criticism of its short trigger pull lead to a new version of the pistol, the M1911A1, coming out during hit 1920s, simply to make it a bit harder to shoot, but as late as World War Two old cavalrymen were clinging to double action revolvers, which had no safeties at all, but which featured a long heavy trigger pull.
By that time the M1911 was beloved and for good reason.
The M1911 took the services all the way into the late 80s. In 1985, the Baretta M9 was chosen to replace it, when it really didn't need to be replaced. Indeed, the Army had to be forced to make a decision, which it was resisting, by Congress threatening to turn the project over to the Air Force, which had been responsible for the adoption of the AR 15. That caught Colt flat footed as even t hough they'd been the supplier of most military handguns to the military for over a century, they weren't really expecting the Army to move forward with the entire project.
There were three reasons in reality to find a new handgun. One was that no new M1911s had been purchased since the Second World War, so they were all getting internally rebuilt. New pistols needed to be ordered. The second one was tha ti was felt that the .45 ACP round was too stout for women, who now were in roles where they needed handguns. That was moronic, as women can shoot any handgun a man can. The third was that the US was foisting the 5.56 on our NATO allies and by adopting a 9mm pistol, we were throwing htem a bone, as every other NATO member save for NOrway used a 9mm pistol.
Which is something we shoudl have paused to think about right there.
The US, until after World War Two, had never been a supplier of small arms to other nations in any signficiant degree. Even after World War Two we were't a supplier of new arms, but our suprlus arms. IT wasn't until after teh Vietnam War that this changed. The big suppliers of military arms to the Western World were Germany and Belgium. The Browning designed Belgian handgun, the High Power, was to some degree the handgun of the free world. It had a proven track record.
The Baretta was a reengineerd P-38. The P-38, like the High Power, and the M1911, is a contender for greatest military handgun of all time. Given that, the M9 is a very good handgun.
US troops at first hated it.
Marines with M9s.
They hated it because they didn't want it, and soon attention was focused on breakages in the slides of the early Italian manufactured pistols. Baretta stated there was nothing wrong with the gun, and in fact, there wasn't.
It never really fully replaced the M1911, as if you really need a pistol, the M1911 wins hands down every time. But as 9mms go, it was a really good one.
Well, then came the Glock.
Glocks are frankly nothing special and a lot of real pistol aficionados do not like them. But they used a striker instead of an external hammer. There are some advantages to that, but for the most part, the advantages are more theoretical than real. Frankly, anyone carrying a striker pistol would be just as well off with a hammer fired one and never notice the difference if they actually had to use it.
Anyhow, the service determined that it needed a striker fired pistol because everyone else was getting one. Not too surprisingly, some in the service dithered on the project as it wasn't really needed, but them some senior officers who didn't know what the crap they were talking about threatened to directly procure Glocks, which would have been a horrible idea.
Tests were held and the P320 chosen.
Disclaimer here, I have one.
I have one, oddly enough, due to a Ducks Unlimited event. I didn't go out and look for one.
Having said that, it shoots extremely nicely. I can see why people like/liked them. In a heads up contest between the M9 and the M17/18, I think the SIG wins every time.
And now we have this issue.
Is it one?
I don't really know. I hope that its figured out. SIG, which also won the Army contest for new rifle (M7) and machine gun (M250), is taking piles of ill informed heat right now.
Let's take a look at the problem, some potential causes, and some fixes.
First, let's start with this.
Is there really a problem?
Sounds fantastical to even ask that, but the chatter about the SIG fits into a long US service tradition of claiming that the prior firearm was perfect and the new one plagued with flaws. Sometimes its even true, or perhaps a little true. Sometimes, it's bunk.
The history of Army handguns certain fits that, however. The Army was really long in replacing the M1873 and soldiers came to immediately hate its replacement. Was the M1892 bad? Well, not as a design, it was far more advanced than the M1873, but the cartridge really was a bad choice. The criticism was warranted.
What about the criticism of the M1911, which actually lead to it being redesigned a bit? Not hardly. The M1911 was a great pistol from day one and its defects, so to speak, were ones of perception on the part of those who were used to old heavy trigger double actions.
And the M9. Well, I'll admit that I was one of its critics. But the M9 is a really good handgun. The frame cracking was a freakish event and not something that proved to be an overall problem. The eral problem is that its a 9mm, but that doesn't have anything to do with the design itself.
And, if we expand out and look at the history of US rifles we'll find the same thing. When the M1 Garand was adopted there were some legitimate problems wtih its gas system, which lead to that being rapidly resdesigned. Still, that didn't keep pleny of critics of faulting the rifle as inferior to the M1903 and soldiers actually were very conscerned that stoppages they experienced in stateside training, which apparently were due to the ammunition being used for a time, meant the rifle was defective. Combat would rapidly prove that to be false, but it received that criticm at first.
The M14 received criticism for having some supposed problem with its bolt and action, which critics of the rifle will reference even today. One civilian produced variant supposedly featured reengingeering to address the prblem, whatever it is. It's difficult to find out hwat hte supposed problem was, and in actual use, ti seems to have been completely unnoticed. Some M14s, for that matter, featured M1 Garand lock bar rear sights which drives some competitive rifleman absolutely nuts. Anyhow, the rifle didn't have faults, but it received criticism for having them.
The M16 of course, did have real faults, and still does, all of which are attributable to its direct impingment gas system. However, the Army made the faults worse by suggesting the rifle never needed to be cleaned, wich was absurd, and by using fouling powder in early cartridge production. AR15 fans and the military seem to have gotten largely over this, but at first the rifle was really hated, and I'll admit that I didn't like it.
The point is that there might not be anything wrong with the M17 at all. What we could be seeing is an element of operator error.
Something about the entire "it discharged all on its owned from its holster" story sounded like a fable.
I started this post before the news above broke, but I kept expecting something like this. Frankly, murder or manslaughter wasn't what I was expecting, but some sort of operator error, or I'll confess suicide.
But here's the deal, once something gets a bit of a bad wrap in American society, particularly litigious American society, it's hard to unring the bell on the story.
And the story here, dare we say it, involves a lot of service users. . . .
Now ,why would that be significant?
Well, frankly, because service users are amongst those who are the least likely to be paying attention to what they're doing and screw up. Being in the Armed Forces or a police department doesn't make you a gun fan. It doesn't even really make you all that knowledgeable on weapons, quite frankly.
SIG might be right. There might be no problem here at all.
And if there is one, it might be an introduced one. That is, users messing with their sidearm accidentally or intentionally. Some police forces actually issue sidearms just to keep their policemen from doing that with firearms they own.
But let's assume there is a problem. What would it be?
The M17 features a really complicated striker design and the pistol was designed not to have a safety. Those two things alone may mean that the design has been somewhat compromised by complication and the addition of a safety it wasn't designed to have. That might, somehow, be defeated the need for a trigger "command". It's important to note that if the pistols are firing on their own, they're defeating the safety, but then the safety only prevents the trigger from being pulled.
That is, I'd note, a much less effective safety design than that on the M1911, but we'll get back to that.
Anyhow, the safety isn't going to stop block the striker. It doesn't work, say, like the safety on a M1903 or G98, which does. It just keeps the trigger from being accidentally pulled.
Another possibility is that something about the holsters is playing a weird role It seems unlikely, but its not completely impossible.
If I were a SIG engineer, and I'm not an engineer at all, I'd look at trying to develop a safety that hold the striker, if possible, and it might not be.
Okay, let's assume that it's all just hopeless, there's something wrong with the SIG and it can't be fixed. I'm not saying that's the case, but what if there is. Clearly a different handgun is in order.
Some have suggested just going back to the M9, and that's not a bad idea. The problem might be that after decades of use most of the M9s are in rough shape. I doubt that, but it's possible.
Well, so what. Just sort through the ones in the inventory and weed out those in bad shape. Issue the ones that aren't, and adopt the newest variant of the M9, which is nearly universally regarded as a very fine weapon.
The only reason not to do that is it has a hammer.
M'eh.
The other possibility. . . oh my. . .dare we say it. . . is to bring back the M1911.
Marine Corps MEU-SOC, the M1911 that proceeded the M45.
There's no reason not to, and in fact the Marine Corps did for awhile. There's nothing the M17/18 and M9 can do that the M1911 doesn't do better.
Japanese Prime Minister Suzuki reported to the Japanese government that the entry of the Soviet Union into the war "makes the continuance of the war impossible."
Emperor Hirohito called the Supreme Council together and tried to make the military leaders accept the proposed surrender. At about 0300 hours, the meeting breaks up with nothing decided other than a cautious sounding of the possibilities of peace through Sweden and Switzerland.
The next atomic mission took off 47 minutes later, with none of this known, of course, to the Allies.
0347: The B-29 Superfortress Bockscar took off from Tinian with the plutonium bomb Fat Man aboard, for the target city of of Kokura.
The plane's crew for the mission was the one normally assigned to The Great Artiste, which was being flown by the crew normally assigned to Bockscar. Major Charles W. Sweeney piloted the plane, being the only pilot to fly in both atomic missions. The planes themselves had multiple crews.
The plane was named for Fred Bock, the pilot, on this mission, of The Great Artiste.
Sweeney later wrote a controversial account of both missions, which was contested by other participants.
0351 and 0353: Great Artiste and Big Stink lift off from Tinian. The Enola Gay, as a weather spotting plane, and Laggin’ Dragon were already airborne. The Enola Gay was not crewed by the crew that had flown on the Hiroshima mission.
0400: Fred Ashworth armed the Fat Man atomic bomb.
1044 Bockscar arrived at Kokura, but haze obscured the target and made it too difficult to locate the drop point.
1132: Sweeney made the decision to turn for the secondary target, Nagasaki, 95 miles south of Kokura.
1158: Upon arrival over Nagasaki, cloud cover allowed for only one drop point, several miles from the intended target. Bombardier Kermit Beahan releases the Fat Man atomic bomb on that point. The dropping expended the last of the US's nuclear arsenal at the time.
1202 (11:02am in Nagasaki) Fat Man explodes 1,650 feet above the city, killing between 40,000 and 75,000 people. The geography of Nagasaki prevented the blast from being as deadly as it had been at Hiroshima.
2230: All aircraft returned to Tinian.
The Soviet Union invaded Manchuria.
Mongolia declared war on Japan.
Chinese paratroopers are dropped on the Canton-Hankow rail line.
You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come. Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom.
Matthew, Chapter 24.
What do we mean by the defeat of the enemy? Simply the destruction of his forces, whether by death, injury, or any other means—either completely or enough to make him stop fighting. . . . The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements. . . . Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration.
Carl von Clausewitz.
I fear all we have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve.
Isoroku Yamamoto.
It didn't work.
The United States did not destroy Iran's nuclear program, it merely set it back several months.
That was, quite frankly, a pretty predictable outcome. Indeed, I predicted it.
The question is, now what?
Iran has learned that its security is, in fact, in building a nuclear weapon. It's going to do it.
The only way to stop that would be a ground invasion of Iran, which we don't have the stomach to do, and which Israel can't do.
Israel gambled that they could take control of the air, and that this was the time to do it. That set up the scene for the US to come in with the GBU-57A/B MOP, which they gambled we would.
We committed them.
It failed.
Military gambles are always judged in hindsight. Japan didn't take out the U.S. Navy on December 7, 1941, as the carriers weren't at Pearl Harbor. If they had been, the story would be different. The Germans didn't defeat the Soviets in Operation Barbarossa, but they came close. If it had worked, it would be regarded as one of the greatest military feats of all time, rather than a disastrous miscalculation.
We'll see what happens here, but my guess is that by this time next year, Iran has the bomb.
June 26, 2025
United States and Israel v. Iran
The Trump administration is getting increasingly spastic over the developing facts that Operation Midnight Hammer didn't really work, or rather than it achieved minor success but failed to achieve its objective.
As per usual, the administration simply accuses everyone who disagrees with them of lying or insulting servicemen. That's complete and utter nonsense. The objective was a tough one and the odds were against it.
Hegseth held a press conference today that was essentially a rant due to these questions being brought up. It was pathetic.
The big difference here, as compared to other Trump counterfactuals, is that the Trump smokescreen will evaporate with a mushroom cloud.
The question is how soon.
cont:
Iran’s Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei declared victory in the recent war and discounted the damage caused by American airstrikes. His tone was absolutely defiant.
I"m quite certain that Donald Trump could declare war on the entire world and Wyoming's delegation would support it.
June 29, 2025
Israel v. Hamas
As its seemingly now become too routine to take notice of, we will note that the fighting is still going on in Gaza. The humanitarian crisis carries on, and Israeli strikes this week killed 72 people.
June 30, 2025
Russo Ukrainian War
The war in Ukraine, the one that Trump promised to end upon being nominated but then later stated that was "hard", is heating up.
Looks like Trump was full of crap about his magical negotiation powers. Where's that "art" of the deal?
Anyhow, Russia launched its biggest aerial of the war so far, firiging a total of 537 aerial weapons at including 477 drones and decoys and 60 missiles. 249 were shot down and 226 were lost.
The Russians have amassed 50,000 troops near Sumy.
Adam Kinzinger (Slava Ukraini) 🇺🇸🇺🇦 @AdamKinzinge· 12h
So what seems clear from the intel, is that we probably should have reloaded the B2s, and gone for a second round. Instead the impulsive toddler was desperate to have a strong ending to the movie and declare a cease fire.
This is a show to him, entertainment, and he’s the “star”
July 4, 2025
Russo Ukrainian War
Kyiv is getting pounded by a large scale drone attack.
The US has halted many weapons transfer programs to Ukraine on the basis that the US needs to rebuilt its own arms stockpile.
July 8, 2025
Russo Ukrainian War
Roman Starovoyt, age 53, who had been fired as Russian transportation minister just hours prior, was found dead from a gunshot wound in his car. Russian authorities stated suicide might be a possibility.
He's also been the governor of Kursk relatively recently.
July 9, 2025
Russo Ukrainian War
Secretary of Defense Pete Hegseth did not inform the White House before he authorized a pause on weapons shipments to Ukraine last week. Currently it seems Trump will resume them.
Trump reports he's upset with Putin, probably for busting the bubble that Trump has any persuasion over him. Trump's efforts at bringing about peace have failed.\
July 14, 2025
Russo Ukrainian War
It appears that the US will be increasing military aid to Ukraine, funneling the new arms through other NATO countries.
Trump has indicated that if Russia doesn't end the war in 50 days he will impose 100% secondary tariffs.
July 17, 2025
Israel v. Hamas
An Israeli artillery shell hit the compound of the only Catholic church in the Gaza Strip, killing three people and wounding 10 others, including the parish priest.
It would seem Trump's much vaunted ceasefire didn't hold.
I suspect as these were Catholic deaths, there won't be much press on it.
Syrian Civil War
Heavy fighting has been going on between Druze and Bedouin tribes in the southern Syrian province of Suwayda, as another ceasefire has collapsed a day after Syrian troops pulled out of the area.
The area has a Druze majority.
July 20, 2025
Russo Ukrainian War
The war Trump did end upon being nominated or sworn into office has been seeing some massive Russian drone assaults, including a 300 drone raid yesterday.
Israel v. Hamas
Israeli troops fired yesterday toward crowds of Palestinians seeking food from distribution hubs run by a U.S.- and Israeli-backed group in southern Gaza, killing at least 32 people. An air strike also occured.
Gee. . . it's almost like Trump didn't get peace in Gaza either.
Syrian Civil War
A ceasefire seems to be holding including Israel.
July 24, 2025
Thailand v. Cambodia
Thailand and Cambodia are fighting over a disputed border area.
July 25, 2025
Israel v. Hamas
France is recognizing the sovereignty of the territorial Palestinian Authority as a state.
July 27, 2025
Israel v. Hamas.
Israel is going to allow humanitarian air drops over Gaza.
July 29, 2025
Russo Ukrainian War
Trump has given Putin twelve days to end the war against Ukraine, which no doubt will be completely ignored.
Thailand v. Cambodia
The countries have entered into a ceasefire.
cont:
Israel v. Hamas
The UK has indicated it's set to shortly follow France in recognizing a Palestinian state if a peace isn't arrived upon soon.
It's almost like the US's opinion on this no longer matters. . .
July 31, 2025
Israel v. Hamas.
And now Canada is moving toward recognizing Palestinian statehood, a move which caused the Trump to threaten trade negotiations with Canada.
It should be clear, the US has lost its first place in the free world status in terms of these matters. Nobody is paying attention to the US on this issue and its now Eurocentric. We were replaced.
August 4, 2025
Middle East
The Houthi's hit Israel with drones today.
August 8, 2025
Israel v. Hamas
Israel has announced it intends to take full control of the Gaza Strip and eventually transfer its administration to friendly Arab forces.
The city itself is essentially destroyed. Who the "friendly" Arab forces would be really begs that question.
Donald Trump and Vlad Putin are going to meet in Alaska.
The optics of this, I'd note, are awful. But then Trump's tastes are bad tastes.
Anyhow, they're going to discuss, apparently bringing the war to an end. Putin will have the high side of any debate as Trump has proven to be totally ineffectual in regard to the war, and indeed, most things, at least from a beneficial prospective.
Putin's already apparently indicated that he'll stop the war in exchange for Eastern Ukraine. That's an awful proposal, but the risk is that demented Trump won't realize its an awful deal.
The Agrarian's Lament: Going Feral: Boycott: An interesting, and frankly shocking to a degree, post by a co-blogger. First the post, then some comments here. The Post. Going Feral: Bo...
Cpt. Charles Boycott was an agent for remote land owners in Ireland who was regarded as particularly severe. During the Irish Land War the Land League introduced the boycott, directing it first at Cpt. Boycott. They refused him everything, even conversations. The concept was introduced by Irish politician Charles Parnell, noting:
When a man takes a farm from which another has been evicted, you must shun him on the roadside when you meet him, you must shun him in the streets of the town, you must shun him at the shop-counter, you must shun him in the fair and at the marketplace, and even in the house of worship... you must shun him your detestation of the crime he has committed... if the population of a county in Ireland carry out this doctrine, that there will be no man ... [who would dare] to transgress your unwritten code of laws.
Charles Stewart Parnell, at Ennis meeting, 19 September 1880.
Maybe it's time to take a page from the Land League.
This comes up in the context of a Reddit post on Fred Eshelman's Iron Bar Ranch, his toy ranch in Carbon County about which he's zealously pursuing litigation in trying to keep people form corner crossing. So far, he's losing, having had the local Federal District Court first, and then the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals endorse corner crossing as legal. As we've noted here:
The Reddit post, which was linked into an out of state news article, provoked a series of responses on how locals shouldn't accommodate Iron Bar economically, the posters apparently being unaware that he's a wealthy out of state landowner that doesn't, for example, hit the feed store in Rawlins.
But I wonder if they were on to something?
Iron Bar is employing locals, and those locals are serving to oppress Wyomingites. There's no real reason to accommodate them. They probably do go to the feed store in Rawlins, probably stop by Bi-Rite in that city, and probably go into town there, or maybe Saratoga, from time to time.
Why accommodate them?
They're serving the interest of a carpetbagger and have chosen their lot. There's no reason to sell them fishing tackle or gasoline, or take their order at the restaurant.
Beyond that, as I've noted before, in his lawsuit Eshelman is making use of local lawyers. His big guns are, of course, out of staters, but he still needs some local ones. Originally that person was Greg Weisz, who now works for the AG's office in the state. Megan Overmann Goetz took over when Weisz left. Maybe she had to, as when a lawyer goes into the state's service, he leaves the work behind. Both of them are of the firm Pence and MacMillan in Laramie.
I don't know anything about Weisz, but a state website disturbingly places him in the Water and Natural Resources branch of the AG's office, noting:
Gregory Weisz
Greg joined the Water and Natural Resources Division in January 2024 after almost thirty years in private practice. While in private practice, he focused on real estate transactions and litigation, easement law, water law, general civil litigation, agricultural law, and natural resources. At the Attorney General's office, he represents many Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality agencies including the Land Quality Division, Industrial Siting Division, Solid and Hazardous Waste Division, Storage Tank department, Abandoned Mine Lands Division, and DEQ itself with general legal issues. He graduated with an undergraduate degree in Natural Resources Management and a law degree from the University of Wyoming. His prior work experience included private forestry consulting, oil & gas exploration, water treatment, ranch labor, and forest products manufacturing.
Lawyers very strongly believe that the justice system is great, and that by serving client's, they're serving truth, justice, apple pie, and motherhood. That allows them to stand themselves. And to some extent, it's true, particularly in the criminal justice system. The entire system depends on the accused getting representation, which is in everyone's best interest.
But that's not true of Plaintiff's cases. Plaintiff's lawyers make a big deal of how they serve the little man, but much of it is a crock. And in something like this, Weisz was serving the interest of a wealthy carpetbagger. Maybe he believes in the cause, but that doesn't mean that people have to accommodate him, then or now. Now there are questions that Wyomingites in particular and public lands users in general have a right to demand of Weisz, most particularly does he believe in Eshelman's cause. If he does, do we want him in the state's law firm, the AG's office?
Beyond that, for the Wyoming lawyers actively representing Eshelman, why accommodate them. They can be comforted by chocking down their service to a bad cause by liberal doses of cash. Locals don't have to accommodate them, however. Laramie and Cheyenne are not far from Colorado, they can buy their groceries there.
I know that if I was shopping for somebody to provide legal services, I'd shop elsewhere if I found my law firm was representing somebody trying to screw public land access for locals.
But it doesn't stop there. All three of Wyoming's "representatives" in Congress voted against what Wyomingites overwhelmingly believe. That ought to be enough to vote them out of office. But people don't need to wait until then. All three are still showing up, I bet, at Boy Scout, sportsmen's and other events. Quit inviting them. And if they do show up, do what Hageman did at the State Bar Convention last year, walk out on her if she speaks as she did to a speaker.
Is this extreme? It is. But these efforts never cease.
When being an employee of Fred Eshelman means you have to drive to Ft. Collins in order to buy a loaf of bread, it won't be worth it. When Escheman can't get a plumber or electrician to come to his house, or anyone to doctor his cattle, or give him a ride from the airport, it won't be worth it for him. When lawyers have decide if that one case is worth not getting anymore, I know what decision they'll make. When John Barrasso quits getting invitations to speak, he'll know what to do.
There are limits, of course, to all of this. You can't hurt people or property. If somebody needs medical service, they should get it. If somebody is stuck in a blizzard and you come upon the, they should get the ride. But you don't have to serve them at the restaurant or agree to fix their pickup truck.
Or, so it seems to me. It would at least seem worth debating.
Boycott.
The comment.
Hobby ownership of substantial amounts of property like this ought to be banned. If you own agricultural land, your primary income should be derived from it.
This could very easily come to be the case if states, including my home state of Wyoming, adopted agricultural corporation laws providing that only bonafide agriculturalist could own agricultural property, which I'd set at any amount of real property not used for industrial use which exceeded five acres in size. That'd help preserve farm and ranch land from being busted up, and it would mean that the people who owned agricultural land were actual agriculturalist. In order, let's way, to hold stock in such a corporation, no less than 65% of your income would have to be derived from agricultural pursuits.
Are we Wyomingites ready to throw off our colonial yoke?
We should, but I doubt we'll do it. Still, I've been surprised in the past.
Anyow, as these posts suggest, there's really no good reason to serve those in our midst whose masters have interests contrary to our own. Let those servants go live amongst their masters or abandon them. And as for the masters, there's utterly no reason to serve their interests through serving them.
The Japanese Supreme War Council agreed to accept the Potsdam Declaration contingent upon the preservation of the Japanese Monarchy.
The Soviet Union declared war on Japan, making the declaration proactive as to midnight, August 9.
The declaration stated:
On Aug. 8, People's Commissar for Foreign Affairs of the U.S.S.R. Molotoff received the Japanese Ambassador, Mr. Sato, and gave him, on behalf of the Soviet Government, the following for transmission to the Japanese Government:
After the defeat and capitulation of Hitlerite Germany, Japan became the only great power that sill stood for the continuation of the war.
The demand of the three powers, the United States, Great Britain and China, on July 26 for the unconditional surrender of the Japanese armed forces was rejected by Japan, and thus the proposal of the Japanese Government to the Soviet Union on mediation in the war in the Far East loses all basis.
Taking into consideration the refusal of Japan to capitulate, the Allies submitted to the Soviet Government a proposal to join the war against Japanese aggression and thus shorten the duration of the war, reduce the number of victims and facilitate the speedy restoration of universal peace.
Loyal to its Allied duty, the Soviet Government has accepted the proposals of the Allies and has joined in the declaration of the Allied powers of July 26.
The Soviet Government considers that this policy is the only means able to bring peace nearer, free the people from further sacrifice and suffering and give the Japanese people the possibility of avoiding the dangers and destruction suffered by Germany after her refusal to capitulate unconditionally.
In view of the above, the Soviet Government declares that from tomorrow, that is from Aug. 9, the Soviet Government will consider itself to be at war with Japan.
Following the war American critics often viewed this as the USSR rushing in to grab the spoils, something the Soviets were certainly not against, but in fact the Western Allies had been asking for the Soviets to declare war on Japan for some time, and had confirmed this intent as recently as Potsdam. The timing of it, moreover, is not something the USSR could have rushed, due to the necessity to stage troops in Asia for Operation August Storm, it's invasion of Manchuria.
A war with the USSR was one of Japan's single biggest fears during the Second World War. For that matter, a Japanese attack on the Soviet Union was one that the USSR had initially dreaded, but which it new it was safe from due to the intelligence activities of Richard Sorge.
Radio Tokyo gave a full report on the bombing of Hiroshima, accusing the United States of barbarism, stating that the US had used methods that; "have surpassed in hideous cruelty those of Genghis Khan."
It's an interesting analogy in that Japan was never invaded by the Mongols, a point of pride and myth in Japan.
Truman issued a radio broadcast threatening to destroy Japan with atomic bombs. At the time, the US had exactly one atomic bomb left, and one under production, both of the "Fat Man" type.
Working on the bomb that would be dropped on Nagasaki, August 8, 1945.
The Nuremberg Charter was issued establishing the laws and procedures by which the Nuremberg Trials.
The way introverts experience the world is completely foreign to extroverts. It's impossible to explain it. It's stressful to not have extroverts grasp that. It's also stressful to live in an extroverted society, which we do.
A lot of lawyers, although I doubt anywhere near 50%, are introverted. That surprises people, and it may in particular surprise people that their own lawyer may be introverted. Being introverted doesn't mean that you can't interact with people, even in a very public and effective fashion.
Added to this is the phenomenon of "Type A" personalities, who are competitive and achieving, for lack of a better way to put it. I have no idea if most Type A personalities are extroverts, but I'll bet they are. It's always universally assumed that lawyers, particularly trial lawyers, are Type A personalities, and I'll bet most are, at least the trial lawyers. but not everyone is. I'm not. I don't like competition at all and never intentionally get myself into most types of competition, at least public competition.1 Knowing that I like history and know a bunch of stuff in general, people will try to draw me into competition or even force me into ones if I'm in a setting where I can't avoid it, which I absolutely despise. "You're on my team!" I'll hear and we're off into a game of specified trivia or something, which I don't want to be in.2 I once had this occur with somebody betting on me following a bunch of "no, no, no" comments from me, all to no avail.
More than one I've been talking with some other lawyer or professional who will say to me "we're both Type A personalities. . . ".
No, I'm not.
So why do I bring this all up?
I recently have had some legal matters which featured a crop of older lawyers. Lawyers older than me. Guys who really ought to be retired. I heard at one of these things that "lawyers who retire are unhappy".
These guys love the association of other lawyers.
Recently it occurs to me that I've never really liked that. I don't pal around with big bunches of lawyers. I have some lawyers who are my friends, but I don't call up other lawyers at random to go to lunch, or things like that. Indeed recently the abuse that lawyers do to society and individuals has come into sharp focus to me, in part I guess, as I'm close enough to the end of my career that I don't have to pretend that every legal cause is somehow ennobling. I think lawyers who have the attitude expressed above have it, as they love hanging around with other lawyers and, as odd as it may seem, they like the forced captivity of witnesses and deponents as they love the game aspect of the law, and just like being around with people they don't know, even if those people really don't want to be around them. I've actually seen lawyers go on yapping at somebody in a deposition for the obvious reason that they're enjoying talking to the witness, who if examined closely is in agony.
Indeed, I bet they don't even realize that's the case.
Okay, again, why do I bring this up?
Well, first of all, I'm supposed to go to an event this week. Well, today. It's out of town. But I have a lot of work to do, and I can't afford the time, and beyond that, I just don't want to go.
I just don't want to.
I don't want to sit around with the lawyers all day, and I don't want to go to the dinner. I don't want to engage in small talk about the law, or tell war stories, or anything like that.
I shouldn't have signed up for it, but there are CLE credits, and I need those.
So yesterday, I told my long suffering spouse that I wasn't going.
Then the hard sell came on.
"You need to go". "You need to keep the networks".
My wife and I, at this stage of my career, have substantially different ideas about the near term future. I've come closer to death that I generally admit within the last couple of years, and this past week two people I know who were just a few years older than me suddenly died. A woman I went to law school with I recently learned passed away four years ago, at age 58. I really don't expect to be like those lawyers in their 70s, keeping on as (annoying) happy warriors until they die in their late 70s or early 80s. Why would I?
They could probably answer that, but I can't even fathom it.
But my wife is an extrovert, and she can't conceive of a situation in which a person doesn't want to go to work every day, or even retire. And she worries about finances, which of course is her absolute right.
So, the big push.
A lot of extroverts regard introverts not wanting to do things as something needing to be addressed. It's sort of, in their minds, like kindergarteners who don't want to go to that first day of school. They just need a little push.
And there's a lot of truth in that. Sometimes introverts do need a push to go to something they'll like.
Sometimes, they need to be able to be left alone, or just with their families.
I generally work six days a week, sometimes seven. I'm in the introvert category that needs to have some downtime. And, quite frankly, to be pushed to go to something by those who can't go themselves, due to other commitments, is agony. My first question whenever I'm invited to something is to my wife, and that question is "are you going?" More often than not, it's "no, but you need to".
I really don't.
And she doesn't grasp that, nine times out of ten, when I go and enjoy these things, it's because she went with me, which she very rarely does anymore. It was her company I enjoyed, not the attendance at the event.
I tend to yield on these things, and we'll see about this one. But, for those close to introverts, or married to them, knowing that we live in an extremely extroverted and competitive society, first do no harm.
"Don't make things worse for me" is sometimes my reply, which is not appreciated at all.
In other words, taking somebody whose brain is wired for hard on full bore activity in public, and for whom there are no casual conversations whatsoever, and pushing them into having their brain work overtime, is not always a favor.
Footnotes
1. I will participate in some sorts of competitions, but they're mostly ones that are really individual and I'm basically competing with myself. In terms of team sports, I really only like baseball, which is a team sport that has such individual positions. It's almost like a series of individual competitions. The man up to bat is really an individual.
I detest football. I find soccer boring. I do like rugby, however.
If I'm in an individual competition, I like to do well, but I'm not upset with myself if I don't. I will note that highly competitive people, however, can make even individual competitions absolutely miserable by introducing their personal competitiveness into it. Some competitive people make things into competitions that don't need to be.
As an example of the latter, two of my highly competitive colleagues are this way. On the rare occasions I've been bird hunting with them, "who has the best dog" becomes some sort of stupid aggravating competition and during football and basketball seasons endless arguments about adopted teams go on and on, in a public setting, on the presumed assumption that everyone likes to watch these verbal jousts.
For that matter, they both like to argue and will engage in verbal sparring on various topics just for sport, and again where everyone else can't avoid them. Some time ago, I actually intervened to stop their arguments on religion as they were outright insulting to two people here who are members of minoritarian religions.
Oddly, I've found that a lot of former soldiers who really liked the military have the same mindset and don't follow team sports. I think I know the reason why, but I'll deal with it in some other thread.
2. I've actually had "we'll play trivia" thrown out as an educement to attend something, which nearly guarantees that I'll try to avoid it. It's not that I mind trivia topics, or trivial pursuit as a game, but I don't want to compete with people out of a close circle who don't care if I win or lose. I really hate being made the presumed champion who will carry a team to victory as its stress I really don't need.